Hawaii Film Blog

Wednesday, November 29, 2006

Senate Leadership and Committees Rejiggered

Here's a rundown of the newly elected Hawaii State Senate leaders and the film-related committees:

It appears that there is no longer a Committee on Media, Arts & Technology (MAT). This was the subject committee to which all film-related bills were assigned. Film measures will probably now be vetted by the newly formed Committee on Economic Development and Taxation (
EDT), which will be chaired and co-chaired by Carol Fukunaga and Will Espero, respectively.

The Committee on Ways & Means (
WAM) has a new chair, Rosalyn Baker, but the co-chair is still Shan Tsutsui.

And the overall Senate leaders are:

Colleen Hanabusa
Vice President:
Donna Mercado Kim
Majority Leader:
Gary Hooser
Majority Floor Leader:
David Ige

New Leaders at the State House of Reps
It's Official: Hawaii Boasts 15-20% Film Tax Credit!
Public Testimonies Have Clout
Hear, Hear on Hearings
So That's How Bills Get Passed!
Brush Up Your Legislature!
Schoolhouse Rock Redux
Legislative Alphabet Soup
How a Bill Becomes a Law

Like this post? Be social & share it:
digg   Reddit   del.icio.us   NewsVine   Technorati